Skip to main content


The mission of Colorado Discover Ability is to increase the independence, self-confidence, self worth and education of people with disabilities through outdoor recreation.

Our Story

Colorado Discover Ability, (CDA), was incorporated in 1980 as the Powderhorn Handicapped Ski Program, Ltd., a non-profit corporation. CDA was initially established to provide educational and therapeutic outdoor experiences to the disabled population in western Colorado, solely through alpine skiing at Powderhorn Ski Resort. Prior to CDA’s existence, disabled individuals in the Grand Valley had no local options for proper training and guidance in adaptive outdoor recreation. In 1987, our name was changed to reflect our vision to provide recreational opportunities in other sports as well. CDA continues to be responsible for the delivery of all adaptive ski and snowboard instruction at Powderhorn.

We began in 2001 to expand into year-round recreational programs and updated our mission to reflect the inclusion of our client’s families and friends. During the summer, CDA’s focus shifts to providing water-based recreation, such as river rafting and related camping activities. CDA has been offering summer Day Camps for children and teens since 2001. With the collaboration of St. Mary’s Hospital and Rocky Mountain Orthopedics’ therapy staff, a multi-day Camp Freedom for children age 6-12 was added in 2004. Besides the regular programs, various clinics like adaptive cycling have offered locals an access to popular activities on the western slope.

CDA is a member Paralympic Sports Club of the United States Olympic Committee.

Meet our Team

Kady Ostowick

Executive Director

Penny Martens

Operations Manager

Sally Sheneberger

Director of Development

Austin Raff

Program Manager

Nick King

Program Manager

Board of Directors

Sherry Schreiner

President of the Board

Teresa Rivera

Vice President

Katherine Waterman


Madison Vickers


Matthew Warren

Board Member

Keegan Reilly

Board Member

Dawn Cruickshank

Board Member

Levi Prall

Board Member

Susan Harris

Board Member

Kayla Inmann

Board Member